Ahman Green

The Green Bay Packers all-time leading rusher, Ahman Green, has been named the recipient of the 2012 Red Smith Award, according to Banquet Chairman Mike Reese. This honor is given annually to an individual who has contributed or continues to contribute to sports either on or off the field in the state of Wisconsin. The presentation will be made at the 47th Annual Red Smith Sports Award Banquet on Tuesday, January 17, 2012, at 6:30 pm at the Radisson Paper Valley Hotel in downtown Appleton, Wisconsin.With Green, being the franchises all-time leading rusher, and 2010 Red Smith Award recipient, Donald Driver, the Packers all-time leader in receiving yards and receptions, the Red Smith Banquet, over the past three years, has been able to honor two of the greatest Green Bay Packer players in franchise history.

Green was drafted in the 3rd round by the Seattle Seahawks hi the 1998 NFL Draft before being traded to the Packers in 2000, when Packer GM Ron Wolf traded Fred Vinson and a 6l round pick for Green and a 5th round pick.From the time he joined the Packers in 2000 up through the end of the 2004 season, Green gained more yards from scrimmage (9,036) and rushing yards (6,848) than any other NFL player. In 2003, he set a franchise record by rushing for 1,883 yards during the regular season. During his tenure with the Packers he became only the second player in NFL history to have two touchdown runs of 90 or more yards, the other player was Bo Jackson.After the 2006 season, Green became a free agent and signed with the Houston Texans, joining his former coach Mike Sherman. In Houston he carried most of the workload in a crowded back field, before being released in 2009. On October 21, 2009, he resigned with the Packers, when the team had to put DeShawn Wynn on injured reserve. On November 8, 2009 Green broke Jim Taylor’s record to become the all tune leading rusher in Packer history.

Related Sessions